Mosquitoes in the Bellehurst area tested positive for West Nile Virus. At this time, no human cases have been reported. Find tips on how to make sure your home is mosquito-free by visiting

Council Members


Vaughn_web.jpg  MAYOR VIRGINIA VAUGHN / biography

Art Brown, Council Member  MAYOR PRO-TEM ART BROWN / biography 


Steve Berry  COUNCIL MEMBER STEVE BERRY / biography

Fred_Smith.jpg   COUNCIL MEMBER FRED SMITH / biography

Beth Swift2017_web COUNCIL MEMBER ELIZABETH "BETH" SWIFT / biography



City of Buena Park
6650 Beach Boulevard, First Floor
Buena Park, CA 90621
Phone: (714) 562-3754
Fax: (714) 562-3506
Office Hours / Map / Schedule



Citizens elect a five member City Council on a nonpartisan basis for staggered four-year terms. Municipal elections are held on the first Tuesday in November on even numbered years. Because Council terms overlap, three positions are open at one election and two positions are open at the next election two years later. Members elected to serve on the Council must be registered voters and City residents.

Annually, the City Council elects one of its members to serve as Mayor and another to serve as Mayor Pro Tempore. The Mayor is the Presiding Officer at City Council meetings. Additionally, he or she makes committee assignments and represents the City at official functions. The Mayor Pro Tempore assumes the duties of the Mayor in his or her absence.

The City Council Members are elected officers identified in Government Code Section 87200 and file statements of economic interests with the City Clerk's office. Copies of the statements of economic interests filed by the above elected officers may be obtained by visiting the offices of the Fair Political Practices Commission (FPPC) or the City Clerk. The physical address of the FPPC is 428 J Street, Suite 620, Sacramento, California 95814. The physical address of the City Clerk's office is 6650 Beach Boulevard, Buena Park, California 90621. The statements of economic interests for some state and local government agency elected officers may be available in electronic format on the FPPC's website at